Easy Plum Jam | Recipe #05/104

RECIPES COMPLETED: 05/104 | By: 25 March 2015

Plum Tree Plum Tree a

I was lucky enough to have some plums from the garden this year. But it was too sour to eat directly. So after some thoughts, I thought that the best option was to turn it into jam. There goes my first attempt of making home-made jam. Yes, I was intimidated but I found a simple enough recipe that help me through the process. Even better, the recipe needed no peel to the plum skin nor pectin. My jam recipe was adapted from http://natashaskitchen.com.

Due to the amount of plum I have, I did not follow Natasha’s measurement but just the instruction around how to make it.

Plum Jam Making Instruction

Instructions

1. Cut plums in half, pit them and place in a large mixing bowl. Drizzle with sugar (cane sugar was used) until all plums are coated with sugar. Let them sit for 1 hour than transfer the mixture in to a large cooking pot.

2. Bring it to a boil uncovered, stirring occasionally. Boil until mixture is bubbling uniformly. During this time, I would occasionally try the jam to see if it is sweet enough. If not, I kept adding sugar till I fancy the taste of it. Simmer for 10 minutes than turn off the heat. Cool to room temperature.

3. Repeat step 2 – a total of FOUR times. At your final boiling, bring it to boil at the lower temperature, stir frequently to prevent scorching.

This process takes 2 days to make. There’s no “set” waiting time between boiling. If 2 days doesn’t work, you can even take 3 days. Preserves have plenty of sugar so they won’t spoil at room temp if you leave it on the counter overnight. If you want the preserves to have an even thicker consistency, you can boil it 5-6 times.

For the current batch, I did 5 times of boiling.

4. When I am waiting for the fourth boiling to cool down, I will sterilize the jars.

5. I start by boiling all the bottles and the lids that I am using for the jam. Make sure all bottles are submerged. I keep the jars in the hot simmering water until it is time to fill them with the jam. Before filling it with jam, I make sure all bottles are dripped dry.

6. Fill the hot jam into the bottle, leaving about ¼″ space. Make sure you wipe jar rim with clean, damp cloth.  Screw the lids on enough to keep a tight seal in place but don’t over-tighten them since air bubbles need to be able to escape.

7. Then return the filled covered bottle of jam in a boiling water bath with water covering over the lid for about ten minutes after tightening the lids to preserve shelf life and kill any potential bacteria.

8. Lastly, let the bottle cool down in room temperature. After jars are completely cooled (12 to 24 hours), press the center of each lid. If dip in lid holds, the jar is sealed. If lid pops up and down, jar isn’t sealed. Unsealed jars can be refrigerated and should be used as soon as possible.

Plum Jam Making

Try it – it’s super easy!

What do you think?

