Recipe #04/104 Spaghetti and Meatballs

RECIPES COMPLETED: 04/104 | WEEKS REMAINING: 51/52

I have always wanted to do this recipe. I know it sounded easy to some but I have never really made them. So, I googled for it and found Martha Stewart’s recipe for this dish. I was motivated and went straight to the local supermarket Countdown to get all my ingredients. I have to say I don’t regret this search. The recipe was super easy and the dish was “YUM”! You have to try this. I will definitely be making more of this in the future. Photos attached:

meatballs

I am going off on a long 2 and a plus months holiday. I will have to put this cooking adventure on hold till I come back. In the mean time, I hope you had started some sort of challenge for yourself. Great to keep you on your feet. Happy Cooking or Happy Trying Out Anything New that You set Yourself to Do for this coming year!

Martha Stewart’s Spaghetti and Meatballs

Ingredients

  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 1/4 cup finely grated Parmesan, plus more for serving
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 pound ground beef chuck
  • 1/4 cup plain dried breadcrumbs
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 can (28 ounces) crushed tomatoes in puree
  • 3/4 pound spaghetti (I just made the amount that I want to eat for the night)

Directions

Step 1

Set a large pot of salted water to boil. In a bowl, combine Parmesan, parsley, garlic, egg, 1 teaspoon salt, and 1 teaspoon pepper. Add beef and breadcrumbs; mix gently. Form into 16 balls.

Step 2

In a 5-quart Dutch oven or heavy pot, heat oil over medium. Add meatballs, and cook, turning occasionally, until browned, 8 to 10 minutes. Add tomatoes; bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer; cover partially, and cook, stirring occasionally, until meatballs are cooked through, 10 to 12 minutes.

Step 3

Meanwhile, cook pasta until al dente. Drain, and return to pot; add meatballs and sauce, and toss gently. Serve with Parmesan.

 

What do you think?

