Cooking Challenge Recipe #03/104 – Salmon with Toasted Couscous

This week recipe was from www.eatingwell.com. The recipe below was meant for 4 serving but I was only making for one.

RECIPES COMPLETED: 03/104 | WEEKS REMAINING: 51/52

Salmon with Toasted Israeli Couscous

Serving 4

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil (I used 1/2 tablespoon of normal olive oil)
  • 1 cup couscous (I still make 1 cup couscous that I ended up eating for 2 extra meals)
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped red bell pepper (1/2 a red capsicum – I love them so the more the better)
  • 1/3 cup unsalted pistachios, coarsely chopped (Pistachios was about handful)
  • 1 large shallot, chopped (I used 1/2 a shallot)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt, divided (A pinch of salt)
  • 1 1/2 cups water (about 1 cup)
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh parsley, plus more for garnish (remain the same)
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh oregano, plus more for garnish (I didn’t used fresh oregano but bottled instead) 
  • 1 1/4 pounds wild Alaskan salmon fillet, skinned and cut into 4 portions (I used local fresh Salmon about 250gm)
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper (I added as I go)
  • 4 lemon wedges
The Ingredients and Preparation

Preparation

  1. Oven was turn on at about 180 degree and was left to heat up. After about 5 minutes, I put in the salmon which I have already seasoned with salt and pepper. Some olive oil was applied on to the salmon. I baked the salmon for about 20 minutes. This depends on the thickness of the salmon, of course. I turn the salmon and baked another 5-8 minutes before removing it from the oven.
  2. Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add couscous, bell pepper, pistachios, shallot and 1/4 teaspoon salt. Cook, stirring frequently, until the couscous is lightly toasted, about 5 minutes. Stir in water. Cover and cook, stirring occasionally, for 5 minutes. Stir in 1 tablespoon each parsley and oregano. I followed most of this instruction except that I added a bit of butter to the couscous to enhance the fragrance. The butter was added after the couscous had soaked up the water and cooked. 
  3. Sprinkle salmon with pepper and the remaining 1/4 teaspoon salt. This step was skip because I already seasoned it before baking the salmon. Place the salmon on top of the couscous, reduce the heat to medium-low, cover and cook until the salmon is cooked through and the water is absorbed, 5 to 7 minutes. This was skipped as well as I decided to bake the salmon instead.  
  4. Serve garnished with herbs, if desired, and lemon wedges.
My version of Salmon & Couscous
Bon appétit!
What do you think?

