Introducing my new toy: The Nook!

Bought from Barnes & Noble in the States. Received on Thursday, 11 October 2012.

I have been eyeing to buy an e-reader since my last trip to Rarotonga back in 2011. Before that I was totally against the idea of reading using an e-reader.

Hear me out! The following are my reasons of why I am still a strong advocate for REAL PAPER BOOKS to E-Books:

1. I like the feeling of real books.

Paper books feel much personal and better in your hands. And, I tend to build attachment to real books. There’s certain warmth to having real books with you.

2. I like the smell of new or old books.

This may sound weird. But, I really like the smell of both new and old books. It wakens and accompanied you in your journey to your reading.

3. I like Second-hand book store and actually enjoys my time hunting for a good old second-hand books.

I think the above pretty much sum up what I wanted to say. Imagine going through e-books in someone’s e-reader and asking to borrow a second-hand book. It just doesn’t feel the same.

4. There are still more printed books than e-books everywhere and anywhere around the world.

More options! But, I think e-books will get there eventually.

5. I’m not software nor batteries depended. It doesn’t break too.

Duuuh!

6. For the time being, printed books are cheaper than e-books.

Ya, I know. It’s crazy!

7. You will never accidentally delete your books.

Imagine sorting your books and you pressed the wrong key and delete your favourite e-books. LOL!

8. You don’t own an e-book. You just own the license to read it. 

Hmmppppff!

9. You can showcase your lovely books on their own personalised bookshelves.

Ya, I like visiting friend’s place and see what other is reading. I always think having real books add character to your home.

10. There’s no annoying advertisement on printed books!

Hands down on that!

So, after all those long list of argument. Why have I decided stop being a stubborn pig but to embrace e-reader as well? I said stressing on, “as well”. I am not abandoning real books just yet. Don’t think I will ever do that.

1. Accumulation of paper books and lack of space.

I have realised that I have started to accumulate a pile of unread paper books which I should eventually go through. And, it’s taking up space. Space which I don’t have a privileged to for the time being.  Plus I move quite a bit. It’s hard to be dragging books around and I hate giving books away.

2. Unhealthy attachment to my paper books.

Yes, I am hogging on them. I am not willing to borrow them to other, to share nor to give away.

3. Freedom to bring tons of books on travel or commuting.

Yes. I usually bring lots of books when I’m on my travel. But, the last trip was killing me. Especially with the current ridiculous charges on overweight luggage at the airport and talk about the space that all my books occupied. Sigh! I have enough. E-Reader + e-books are in fact much more convenient when travelling. And, you have a wide selection to choose from.

4. They’re much more environmentally friendly.

 

You don’t have to kill a few trees for each book, and let’s not even talk about the ink. Recycling only goes so far.

5. Note-taking and word-searching is much more powerful. 

The notes you write can be found and referenced quickly and easily. They don’t have to be permanent. You can search unknown word instantly via the e-dictionary by highlighting it. So, you won’t have to drag a dictionary around wherever you go.

6. Being able to get a book quickly.

Yup. All you need is internet and credit card. You can buy books any time and nearly anywhere. No more driving to town. Having the hassle of looking for a parking and in the end, the book store does not have any stock left for the book you are looking for. This can be an annoying process especially when you are desperate for it.

7. It’s easier on your hand or back.

Imagine having to carry all those textbooks to school, university or work.

8. Font adjustments!

Of course!

9. If it promote more people to read, WHY NOT?

Personally, I prefer to mix and match depending on the situation and where am I. So what is my final verdict? Of course, a mix. I prefer the experience of reading a book but e-books offer several important advantages.

What about you – which do you prefer? Share your thought!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. kford2007 says:

    Love your article. You make some very valid points. I, however, haven’t moved to the ‘dark’ side yet. I do have the free Kindle for PCs, but I rarely use it. I’ve also tried the Kindle and the Nook, and can’t stand not having a page to turn. The e-readers are too impersonal to me. Too cold. Too sterile. I know. I’m a dinosaur. 🙂 Oh well. I could be worse things I guess. Great post.

    1. jyhedgehog says:

      I wouldn’t say it’s the dark side… LOL.. 😛 Just in between. Utilising the best of both world. Especially for bookworm like me who like reading when traveling. It’s helpful!

What do you think?

