A Toast to 31!

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!

It’s my birthday!!!

“Youth is happy because it has the ability to see beauty. Anyone who keeps the ability to see beauty never grows old.” – Franz Kafka

It had been a great weekend despite that I have a bad throat and feeling slightly under the weather. (I can hardly swallow!)

I am just happy that Christopher came over for the weekend to spend the day with me.

It started off with a day trip to Wanaka.

Mochaccino at Urban Grind Cafe & Bar Wanaka

Had a yummy brunch of Chorizo Pizza at Urban Grind. It’s really (really) tasty.

Evening: Pre-birthday dinner prepared by Chef Christopher

Home-Cooked Swedish köttbullar (meatballs)

The Birthday Present

The funniest birthday card + The Loveliest Hand-Written Letter/Poem + The Cutest Bunny!

I did had a great birthday weekend. Quiet but lovely and sweet.

Looking back, I think I have changed a lot. Especially in the last few years. I started to want a simpler lifestyle. My aim in life is just to be happy and free. As simple as that. Money and materials are no longer my motivation. They just make me lose “me”.

Nonetheless, growing up, I’ve become much more confident and comfortable with myself. I’ve grown older but wiser and understand myself better.  I have learnt to just enjoy simpler pleasures in life. And to continue to strive hard at the things that are important to me which I will continue to do so.

Today, I have turned 31 and I am thankful I’ve come a long way. I am also thankful to all those people that had shaped my life no matter where they were: “the past, present or future”.  One thing I have learnt about the people in my life is that it doesn’t matter whether if they are good or bad, they leave a special mark in life. With it, I grow with them; shaping who I am today. For that, I am grateful. I have become the person I am today.

“I am 31 going on 32
I know that i’m naive
Fellows I meet may tell me I’m sweet
And willingly I believe

I am 31 going on 32 innocent as a rose
Bachelor dandies
Drinkers of brandies
What do I know of those?”

The Sound Of Music

LOL!

“Age is strictly a case of mind over matter. If you don’t mind, it doesn’t matter.” – Jack Benny

P/S: Thanks to all my gorgeous lovely friends for the good wishes.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Anika says:

    I was JUST singing that song from Sound of Music! Happy birthday and great post.

    1. jyhedgehog says:

      LOL! Did you?

      Thanks for ur greeting. 🙂

  2. VampireM says:

    Happy Belated Birthday! Hope you have a great year ahead of you and more to come in your new job, new location, etc 😀

    1. jyhedgehog says:

      Thanks, M!
      Hope you are having a great year too. 🙂

  3. minnnara says:

    Happy belated birthday darling..such nice piece of story

    1. jyhedgehog says:

      Thanks! =)

What do you think?

