Returning to the work force!

The drive there!
It was raining when I was there for interview the other day, and it’s still raining on my 1st day to work!

The first 2 days of going back to working life — honestly, not easy. After having such a long break from work life; going back was a fearful transition and an intimidating one.

The scariest moment is always just before you start. – Stephen King

I am not saying I’m not excited. I am in a way am excited with the new challenge in life but in another way, I fear that while being in the work force, I will soon be blinded by what is truly important in my life yet again; another 5 years would be gone in a blink. Having to always to remember that life is not about work. Work is just a mode for survival in the globalised world. I have to work not because I want to work. I guess in this sense, it is best for one to find a job that he/she is truly passionate about so that we do not feel obliged in going to work.

When your passion and contribution are the same, you have found your purpose. – Unknown

Now back to my first two days of work. Of course, with the full on – 2 weeks of training, orientation and induction. It was busy. Since I arrived yesterday at midday. It had been only information and more information. But, it was good. I prefer it this way than being left not knowing what to do. I had been doing paper works, reading the manual, doing the workbooks and today, my first experience with the new group of 14 boys that have just arrived from around Otago. I had been a quiet observer in this context. Trying to learn as much as I can; observing.

It had been interesting seeing how things are done around here but obviously there will be much more to learn.

And, yes — at certain point of the day, I did had my doubt and anxiety if I can do well at this job that I’ve chosen to do but, I kept reminding myself. I am not perfect and am not expected to be perfect on my first day. Be patient and don’t put limit on myself.

If you always put limit on everything you do, physical or anything else. It will spread into your work and into your life. There are no limits. There are only plateaus, and you must not stay there, you must go beyond them. – Bruce Lee

I will be keeping information on this blog at a professional level as this involved intellectual property right as much as the privacy and confidentiality of fellow colleagues and clients. I respect them and would like them to do the same too. 

So, whenever I blogged about work. It will only be about me, what I’ve learnt and my feeling from the day/s.

All I can say about my work colleagues are that they are of all background, all forms, all ages, all genders, and a lovely bunch of people. I am truly looking forward to working with them and I think I’m already growing fond of some of them (as any natural human behaviour, we tend to categories people and I guess I have, too)

Anyway, I am temporary living in the staff accommodation. As surprise as I may be, the management seems to be worried that I won’t be comfortable in the staff accommodation but I am. I really am. I really don’t think I need much and I really don’t expect much except for a  clean bed, a clean kitchen and a nice hot (uninterrupted) shower.  My expectation is really as simple as that. LOL! But, they kept reminding me that it’s not Ritz or Hilton. Hmmmm! I wondered! I wonder if I am giving them an impression that I’m that sort of person or was it really just because they are truly worried about my expectation. I really hope it’s not because I come through as that sort of person. Nonetheless, I am content with the accommodation provided.

The first night of sleep was totally uneventful. I think I basically just closed my eyes and was off till morning. And, I was up before my alarm.

Working time for these couple of days will be from 9-5.30pm and I’ll be roster in later for a variation of shifts time.

I’ve learnt today:

  • Evacuation Assembly Points
  • Evacuation Procedure
  • Prep. Day
  • Tea Routine
  • The different camps that occur throughout the year
  • Mihi Whakatau – Formal Welcomes but less formal welcome than a powhiri (I was welcome to the family through Mihi Whakatau as well yesterday and today, I was part of the family welcoming the children and their families.)

Note to self:

  • Need to learn Maori language! (Anyone has good tips, website, books on doing this more effectively? I would appreciate any help.)
  • Tea means DINNER!
6 Comments Add yours

  1. Jali says:

    Wow the staff accommodation isn’t too bad from the photos actually. Though not the first time but I still want to say to you: congrats returning to the workforce! 🙂

    P.s. hope this is helpful, I use this online dictionary A LOT when I was studying the maori papers. (Very helpful.)
    http://www.maoridictionary.co.nz/

    1. jyhedgehog says:

      Yes, the accommodation is totally sufficient and cosy. I seriously have no complain. But, some staffs were asking how’s the staff accomm. and I said it’s great. And, they give me these questioning laugh or sneer. LOL! No idea why but…I’m happy.

      Oh, I do use the dictionary but mainly to help in finding the meaning of things. I need something that can help me in conversational. Do you have your old notes/lectures/readings from your Maori class that perhaps I can use?

      Cheers

  2. Kay says:

    Congratulations on this new phase in life my dear! Am so proud of you! I hope that doesn’t mean our emails will cease though 🙂

    1. jyhedgehog says:

      Thanks! Of coz, not. Still waiting for you reply to be honest. LOL!:)

  3. Kay says:

    Omg really?! Lol! Ok will get back into gear!! xx

    1. jyhedgehog says:

      Received your new email. Will reply soon

What do you think?

