Welcome to my 2nd Home – Dunedin (Part #2)

There is something about Dunedin that’s just charming.  Small and yet, not too small. Busy, but not too busy. I guess it being the university town really brought a different light to it. Personally, I have grown really fond of Dunedin with my mere 3 years here. And, it really felt surreal that I’m about to leave yet again. Nonetheless, this post is not about my nostalgia towards Dunedin but to introduce you some of my favourite of Dunedin.

I blogged on some of my favourite spots of Otago Peninsula. Check out the post here: New Zealand’s first city – Dunedin (Part #1) if you missed it. And, today I’ll blog mainly with the focus in the city itself.

  • Dunedin City

North East Valley

On a really nice sunny day, I could easily spent a whole day at the [6] Dunedin Botanical Garden. There’s something about it that say cozy but big enough for everyone to find a nice spot. Whether you are into plants, flowers or lazing around, there’s just something for everyone in the garden. There’s been multiple times, where I’ll just sit under a huge massive tree to do my readings or studying. Or a walk to the aviary with over 200 birds (some information that I gathered from the Dunedin City Council’s website). And, you will never know what you will find here like once; I saw a whole bunch of ducklings following their mother duck around. It’s just so adorable.

[7] Signal Hill is another great spot of mine to have an overview of Dunedin. I came here often enough and at times to have pre-pack breakfast or lunch here. I love the solitude that it gives me. It’s more or less my getaway when I need to get my head sorted out. LOL! If you know what I mean.

There’s also a monument to the New Zealand Centennial of 1940, a large structure including two large bronze figures representing “History” and “The Thread of Life” designed by F. W. Sturrock and F. W. Staub. However, you need to note that it can get really windy up here so have your wind breaker with you for any possible wind. If you are into walking, there are multitude tracks that you can do here if you are keen.

I hardly go to [8] Mt.Cargill anymore because it is kind of far away for the city. And, most of the time because of the weather. Mt. Cargill is 680 metre high volcanic outcrop. Highest point in the northern of Dunedin. It was name after Captain William Cargill who was the founder of Otago Settlement in New Zealand. At this summit, you can also see a more extensive view of Dunedin, the Peninsula and even, the more rural area. But, the highlight of Mt. Cargill for me is the [9] Organ Pipes – The organ pipes have never seized to amaze me. It’s just so magnificent and gorgeous. And, I just love climbing on it. However, coming down always freak me up somewhat. But, it’s totally worth the climb up. It’s relatively an easy say about 1/2 hour walk from the parking area and easy climb.

More to come in Dunedin (Part #3)

Highlights:

NORTH EAST VALLEY

[6] Dunedin Botanical Garden

[7] Signal Hill

[8] Mt.Cargill

[9] Organ Pipes

What do you think?

