Winter ’09 Break [Reviews on Hostels] – YHA Mount Cook

South Island – New Zealand

YHA Mount Cook
[You can also book thru HI-hostels.com]
Address: Cnr Bowen & Kitchener Drives, Mt Cook
Contact: +64 3 435 1820 Fax: +64 3 435 1821
Email: yha.mtcook@yha.co.nz

See Map & Direction 

This is the first hostel on my recent winter trip around the South Island. Arriving here at night, I have no idea how’s the surrounding was like. But, the hostel was really clean, cozy and the staffs are just really nice. For the 1st night, after driving for a few days already. I really wanted some privacy and just a good night sleep, so decided on a private room. And, it was just incredibly nice. YHA Mt. Cook is built-in a log cabin style so, it give that sense of coziness and warmth. The private room was just way better than a hotel room. I was just pleased and enjoyed a great night sleep.Waking up was just dreamy for me because once I opened my eyes. I just saw part of Mt. Cook surrounded by pink skies. It’s just breathtaking.

Since, I am on a budget, for the second night, I decided to switch to a 4-bunks dorm. And, again, it wasn’t a disappointment. Room was great.

Just a Note: 

If you are on a tight budget, remember to do your grocery shopping before heading up to Mount Cook, coz everything is just way too expensive.

My ratings out of 5 Stars!

Location: 
Room Cleanliness : 
Kitchen Cleanliness : 
Value for Money: 

3 Words to describe YHA Mount Cook – Comfortable, Cozy & Highly Recommended!

What do you think?

