In Love with a Hedgehog

The Day I fell in Love!
In Love with a Hedgehog.

I first seen the hedgehog in New Zealand. He totally have a personality of its own. Totally different from anything I have seen. Somehow, something about the hedgehog totally attracts me.

The second time, I remembered hearing a snuffling sound in the bush when I was in Te Anua. Under the bright moonlight, I saw it toddled around at the nearby bushes. Minding his own business and was totally unaware of me being so near to it.

I have no idea what, but, something about the little creature is just so intriguing. Making me wanting to know more about what’s it’s all about. The more I get to know it, the more I see it, the more I fell in love. I know it’s weird. Somehow, I have gone to have built an interesting personal relationship with it. I wanted to know more about the hedgehog. Somehow, I feel I could relate to it.

Hedgehogs have existed for about 15 million years already. Changing just a little. And, under potential harm, the hedgehogs protect themselves by rolling up into a ball and their quills simply create an impenetrable barrier. Most of the time, they are much more likely to just run away if in danger. An insectivore. It has poor eyesight, but their sense of smell and hearing is really good. It makes little snort sound and totally active only at night.
There is this phrase of “hedgehog’s dilemma”. And, if you refer to wiki or the urban dictionary, it means:

(1) The closer two beings come to one another in a relationship, the more likely it might be for them to inflict psychological pain on each other
(2) Yet if they remain apart, they each might feel the roughly equivalent (psychological) pain of loneliness.
Making it even more interesting, isn’t it?

I still haven’t got a chance to take a photo of the little creature. But, don’t think I will have a chance until after winter. The hedgehog would go into hibernation already.
Can’t wait to see the little creature again, hopefully in Spring..

What do you think?

